Transfer Google Business Profile ownership to clients or business owners
Ideal outcome
You successfully transfer the business account on Google Business Profile to your clients or business owners
Why it matters
A transfer of ownership is crucial for your clients or business owners to take full control of the profile. For instance, the owner of the Google Business Profile is the only one who can delete the account, which supersedes a manager role
Before you start
You will need a Google Business Profile that is already set up and verified. Please refer to SOP 100 (web version): Set Up A New Google Business Profile account, if you have not done so
Key steps
10 steps
What is inside
12 headings
1Transfer Google Business Profile Ownership7
Sign in to the Google Account you will use to manage the Google Business Profile account.
Ensure that you are on the right page labeled as “Google Business Profile Manager” and not your personal “Google Account”.
Click on the verified business account that you would like to transfer ownership.
Click on the kebab menu (the 3 dots) and select “Business Profile Settings”.
Review the available users on your profile by clicking “Managers”.
Click “Add” to add a new user and enter their corresponding email address. Select “Owner” and click “Invite”. Your clients will receive an email in which they will need to accept the invite.
Next, if your client is currently an existing user as a manager, click on the user’s name and the pencil icon beside “Access”. Select “Primary Owner” or “Owner”.
2How to check if your clients or business owners have ownership of the Google Business Profile3
Once users are added or edited, go back to the main page of “Business Profile Setting” and select “Remove Business Profile” to review the transfer of ownership.
Next, click on “Stop managing this profile”.
Review the user roles, especially the “Primary Owner” role of the Google Business Profile. Ensure the right name is allocated to the primary owner role. Edit if necessary.